ICPR – International Commission for the Protection of the Rhine


Parts of the Rhine watershed are located in the territories of Belgium (Region Wallonia), Liechtenstein and Austria. These three states have an observer status to the ICPR and enjoy the same rights in the Rhine Coordination Committee as the parties to the ICPR convention. Italy formally belongs to the international river basin district Rhine. With only 70 square kilometres, its geographical share in the river basin is very small and, moreover, largely uninhabited. Therefore, in practice, the Republic of Italy does not participate in the work of the ICPR.

The plenary session of the ICPR and the Coordination Committee Rhine meet once a year in a joint session.

In the ICPR, the three states with observer status are represented by:

Belgium (Region Wallonia)
Direction générale opérationnelle de l'Agriculture, des Ressources naturelles et de l'Environnement
Avenue Prince de Liège 15
B-5011-Namur (Jambes)

Amt für Umwelt
Dr. Grass Strasse 12
FL-9490 Vaduz
Fürstentum Liechtenstein

Bundesministerium für Land- und Forstwirtschaft, Regionen und Wasserwirtschaft
Stubenring 1
A-1010 Wien