Menu
Breadcrumb

Wastewater

Every one of us daily produces wastewater, no matter, whether we use water for cooking, cleaning, washing clothes, in toilets or for watering gardens. All the water we use flows into the sewer – and is more or less polluted. In 2000, households and small businesses in the Rhine catchment consumed about 2.6 billion m³ drinking water. On average, this corresponds to about 130 l per inhabitant per day. During the past years, water consumption has further fallen.

96 per cent of the wastewater from industry, trade and settlements in the watershed of the Rhine are today treated in wastewater treatment plants. During the past years, the nutrient and pollutant charge of wastewater from industry and settlements was distinctly reduced. The result is that the water quality of the Rhine and of many of its tributaries has distinctly improved.

However, some micropollutants such as pharmaceuticals (and their derivatives), plant protection agents, hormone-active agents from the wastewater of settlements and other sources continue to pose a problem.

Did you know ...

that water is used for producing almost all products we buy?

Menu
Breadcrumb

Abwasser

Jeder von uns produziert täglich Abwasser, ob wir das Wasser zum Kochen, Putzen, Wäsche waschen, für die Toilettenspülung oder zum Gießen im Garten nutzen. Alles Wasser, das wir verbrauchen, fließt mehr oder weniger stark verschmutzt als Abwasser in die Kanalisation. Haushalte und Kleingewerbe im Rheineinzugsgebiet verbrauchten im Jahr 2000 ca. 2,6 Milliarden m3 Trinkwasser. Das entsprach im Durchschnitt etwa 130 Liter pro Einwohner und Tag. Der Wasserverbrauch ist in den letzten Jahren weiter gesunken.

Im Rheingebiet wird Abwasser aus Industrie, Gewerbe und Siedlungen heute zu 96 Prozent in Kläranlagen gereinigt. In den vergangenen Jahren konnten die Nährstoff- und Schadstofffrachten der Abwässer aus Industrie und Siedlungen deutlich vermindert werden. Dadurch hat sich die Wasserqualität des Rheins und vieler seiner Nebenflüsse deutlich verbessert.

Allerdings bestehen weiterhin Probleme durch einige Mikroverunreinigungen wie Arzneimittel (und deren Abbauprodukte), Pflanzenschutzmittel, hormonaktive Stoffe aus  Siedlungsabwässern und anderen Quellen.

Wussten Sie ...

dass bei der Herstellung fast aller Produkte, die wir kaufen, Wasser verbraucht wird?