Menu
Breadcrumb

Habitat patch connectivity

Biotopes along the Rhine – that is the habitats for the species community of plants and animals are again to be interconnected in order to maintain ecological continuity. This reestablishment of the habitat patch connectivity along the Rhine from Lake Constance to the North Sea is one of the targets set by “Rhine 2020“, the ICPR programme for sustainable development and is to be implemented with the help of the following actions:

  • preserve freely flowing river sections
  • restore river dynamics
  • (permit) a more varied design of the structure of river banks and bottom
  • open old alluvial areas to the river
  • change to more extensive agriculture in the floodplain
  • remove obstacles to the migration of the river fauna
  • reconnect old river branches and torrents

The concept for maintaining, upgrading and linking the valuable habitat types along the Rhine from Lake Constance to the sea is part of the report and the atlas of the ICPR for achieving a habitat patch connectivity along the Rhine. It defines precise development targets for the different Rhine sections as well as spatial focal points, gives instructions for action in order to reconnect the eight different kinds of habitats and indicates need for action for the entire Rhine in order to restore an extensive habitat patch connectivity. The concept simultaneously serves water protection, nature protection as well as flood protection.

The relevant areas are represented on more than 40 individual charts in the “Atlas” of the “Habitat Patch Connectivity of the Rhine” (ICPR 2007). The atlas on CD-Rom may be ordered free of charge using our contact form.

In preparation of the planned success control, the state of projects and measures implemented or planned within the "Habitat Patch Connectivity along the Rhine" was retrieved in the different countries and compiled in a table. The Survey Report on the Development of the "Habitat Patch Connectivity along the Rhine" 2005-2013 (Only available in German, French, Dutch) presents 1 or 2 positive project examples and describes how these projects contribute to implementing the "Habitat Patch Connectivity".

Ecological system

Renaturing or restablishing running water bodies means to restore the ecological system consisting of source-brook-river-riverbed-floodplain-groundwater and to remove transverse and longitudinal structures.

At the same time, water retention is improved which also serves the targets of flood prevention.

Biotopverbund

This brochure is only available in German and French

Menu
Breadcrumb

Biotopverbund

Die Biotope entlang des Rheins – also die Lebensräume der Artengemeinschaften der Pflanzen und Tiere - sollen wieder miteinander vernetzt werden, damit die ökologische Durchgängigkeit gewahrt bleibt. Diese Wiederherstellung des Biotopverbundes entlang des Rheins vom Bodensee bis zur Nordsee ist eines der Ziele von „Rhein 2020“, dem Programm zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung des Rheins der IKSR und soll mit folgenden Aktionen umgesetzt werden:

  • Freie Fließstrecken erhalten
  • Gewässerdynamik wieder zulassen
  • Ufer- und Sohlstrukturen vielfältiger gestalten (lassen)
  • Altauen dem Fluss öffnen
  • Landwirtschaft in Aue extensivieren
  • Wanderhindernisse für Flussfauna beseitigen
  • Altarme und Gießen anbinden

Das Konzept für die Erhaltung, Aufwertung und Vernetzung der wertvollen Biotoptypen entlang des Rheins vom Bodensee bis zum Meer ist im Bericht und Atlas der IKSR zur Herstellung des Biotopverbundes am Rhein enthalten.Es formuliert konkrete Entwicklungsziele für unterschiedliche Rheinabschnitte, setzt klare räumliche Schwerpunkte, gibt Handlungsanweisungen zur Wiederverknüpfung der acht verschiedenen Biotoptypen und zeigt für den Gesamtrhein den Handlungsbedarf für die Herstellung eines großräumigen Biotopverbundes auf. Das Konzept dient gleichermaßen dem Gewässer-, Natur- und Hochwasserschutz.

Die relevanten Gebiete sind auf mehr als 40 Einzelkarten im „Atlas“ zum „Biotopverbund am Rhein“ (IKSR 2007) dargestellt. Der Atlas kann als CD-Rom kostenfrei über unser Kontaktformular bestellt werden.

Als Vorbereitung der geplanten Erfolgskontrolle wurden die seit 2005 im Zuge des „Biotopverbunds am Rhein“ durchgeführten oder geplanten Projekte und Maßnahmen in den Ländern abgefragt und in einer Tabelle zusammengestellt. Im Überblicksbericht über die Entwicklung des „Biotopverbund am Rhein“ 2005-2013 wurden für jeden Rheinabschnitt 1 bis 2 positive Beispielprojekte ausgewählt und beschrieben, wie diese Projekte zur Umsetzung des „Biotopverbunds“ beitragen.

Ökologischer Verbund

Den ökologischen Verbund Quelle-Bach-Fluss-Bett-Aue- Grundwasser wiederher- zustellen sowie Quer- und Längsverbauungen zu beseitigen, nennt man Renaturierung oder Rückbau von Fließ- gewässern.

Sie fördert gleichzeitig den Wasserrück- halt, was auch im Sinne der Hochwasservorsorge ist.

Biotopverbund