Menu
Breadcrumb

River meadows

River meadows, also called „alluvial areas“ are low lying areas along a river characterized by the change of floods and low water.

Alluvial areas are essential for the Rhine ecosystem, but also for man. They represent valuable nature resources and act as natural flood buffers. They increase water retention and are thus the best means of flood prevention.

Reactivating floodplains along the Rhine and reconnecting alluvial waters are two important measures aimed at ecologically upgrading the Rhine.

The ICPR programme „Rhine 2020“ for a sustainable development of the Rhine includes targets to reactivate 160 km² of floodplain along the Rhine and in the lowlands of the Rhine and 1 000 km² in the entire Rhine watershed and to renature 11.000 km of flowing waters by 2020. Furthermore, 100 old water courses of the Rhine and backwaters are to be reconnected by 2020.

A first balance revealed that the intermediate targets set for 2005 had been achieved. By 2012, about 122 km² of alluvial areas along the Rhine had been reactivated and 80 old water courses of the Rhine and backwaters had been reconnected.

Menu
Breadcrumb

Auen

Flussauen, auch kurz „Auen“ genannt, sind die Niederungen entlang eines Flusses, die von wechselndem Hoch- und Niedrigwasser geprägt sind.

 Auen sind für das Ökosystem Rhein, aber auch für den Menschen lebensnotwendig. Sie sind wertvolle Naturressourcen und natürliche Hochwasserpuffer. Sie verstärken den Wasserrückhalt und stellen so die beste Hochwasservorsorge dar.

Die Reaktivierung von Überschwemmungsauen (Auwäldern) am Rhein und die Wiederanbindung von Auengewässern sind zwei wichtige Maßnahmen zur ökologischen Aufwertung des Rheinstroms.

In ihrem Programm „Rhein 2020“ zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung des Rheins hat die IKSR die Ziele formuliert, bis 2020 160 km² Überschwemmungsgebiet am Rhein und in der Rheinniederung sowie 1.000 km² im Rheineinzugsgebiet zu reaktivieren und die Fließgewässer auf einer Länge von 11.000 km zu renaturieren. Außerdem sollen 100 Rhein-Altarme und Rheinnebengewässer bis 2020 wieder angebunden werden.

In einer ersten Bilanz zeigte sich, dass die bis 2005 gefassten Zwischenziele erreicht sind. Bis 2012 wurden zirka 122 km² Überschwemmungsauen am Rhein reaktiviert und 80 Rheinaltarme und Rheinnebengewässer wieder angebunden.